Living Fearless

If we’re being real, I’ve always struggled with fear. So much so that I never really knew until recently how to live without it. Fear of rejection. Fear of the unknown. Fear of failure. Fear of a life not fully lived. Fear of time wasted. Fear of regrets. Fear of what other people think. Fear of being forgotten. Fear of missing out. Fear of all the worse things my mind could imagine. Anxiety was like a shadow that clung to me every day, every moment. I knew scripture said to cast my anxieties on the Lord and to be anxious for nothing. I would try my best to give God my fears and worries only to pick them back up. Fear became like an annoying companion. I truly didn’t know how to shake it or let it go.

I really think in this season God is teaching me to surrender my fears and to live confidently and peacefully every day, no matter my circumstances. It’s been such a beautiful thing as I’m learning what it means to live in freedom from fear. This doesn’t mean that scary things don’t come along or that I’ll never again face fear. Rather it means I’ve found a peace in knowing God is bigger than any fear I will ever face. You’ve probably seen the popular Nelson Mandela quote: “I learned that courage is not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it. The brave person is not one who does not feel afraid, but who conquers that fear.” Man, this is such a picture of the freedom I’m finding in Christ. As believers, “We are more than conquerors through him who loved us (Romans 8:37).” That means we are no longer slaves to things we just can’t shake! That’s something worth getting excited about. Paul reminds us in 2 Timothy 1:7 “For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power, love and sound judgement.” When I think of the circumstances that were surrounding Paul as he wrote this letter to Timothy, I’m struck by his confidence in God and the Gospel. Just a few verses later he reminds Timothy to rely on the power of God (v. 9). I think that’s such a key component in finding triumph over fear too. We were never made to conquer sin alone or to muster up the power within ourselves to be all that God has called us to be. “By his divine power the Lord has given us everything we need for life and godliness through the knowledge of the one who called us by his own honor and glory. (2 Peter 1:3).” One thing He has surely called his disciples to be is courageous (Joshua 1:9, Deuteronomy 31:6, Psalm 31:24, 2 Samuel 10:12) Courage is simply the ability to do something that frightens you. I’ve been thinking a lot this week about how to be confident in God and courageous in this life in times of fear. What does it look like to live fearlessly? Here are a few things that have helped me. I hope if you find yourself in a place of fear these things will help you also.

  1. Make a choice.  Will we choose to believe or will we fall into the familiarity of fear, panic and worry? I love the words of Jesus in Mark 5:36 “But overhearing what they said, Jesus said to the ruler of the synagogue, ‘Do not fear, only believe.” We serve a God who does the unthinkable! We can choose to hold onto our fear….or to hold onto the promises of God. “When I am afraid, I will trust in you. (Psalm 56:3)”
  2. Fill the mind with the truth of God’s word. Fear is so much a battlefield of the mind. We can’t drive out lies of the enemy unless we know the truth of God. God has given us His word of life. We must read it, memorize it, and cling to it. See (Psalm 119:11, Ephesians 6:10-18) It will be the greatest help when faced with a battle.
  3. Take comfort in God’s presence. The truth is no matter what we face, God has already promised His presence to us. Have you ever struggled with unanswered prayers? No, just me? Well I can tell you that there have been countless times in my life where God has answered prayers and done more than I could imagine. And there have also been times (like recently) where I’ve poured my heart out in earnest and continual prayer and the conversation feels one sided. Satan would love for me to begin to wonder if God’s left me or just isn’t interested in supplying my needs. But that is so far from the truth!! The amazing truth is as believers, we serve a God who is ALWAYS with us. (Psalm 23:1-6, Matthew 28:20) So I can take comfort in knowing that God is with me both on the mountain tops and in the valley. He’s not only working out what I can’t see, but He’s walking with me through it all. In the waiting, He is making me strong.

This is by no means an exhaustive list of fear fighting steps. This is not a thorough in depth lesson of any sort. This is just me being real with you and sharing what God has been teaching me in this season and some things that have helped me as I learn to live fearless. Every day is a new adventure in freedom. I don’t know where you are in your life right now, but if you are facing some tough and scary things I invite you to believe, dig into His Word, and rest in His presence.

Now just for fun I’ll leave you with this week’s current jam that’s all about letting go of fear 🙂 Enjoy!

Leave a comment